Asia Cup: Sri Lanka stun Pakistan in final to lift title

Pakistan endured a batting collapse as the Lankans limited them to 147 full blast in 20 overs

With a mixing overall efficiency, Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 23 go to win the DP Globe Asia Mug title at the Dubai International Cricket Arena on Sunday.

Going After 171, Pakistan endured a magnificent batting collapse as the Lankans limited them to 147 full blast in 20 overs for their 6th Asia Mug title.

Earlier Sri Lanka, after being taken into bat, organized a great fightback to make 170 for 6 in 20 overs.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa (71 not out off 45 rounds) played a blinder as well as shared a 58-run collaboration with Wanindu Hasaranga (36 off 21 rounds) to revitalize the Sri Lankan batting after they were decreased to 58 for 5 inside 8 overs.

Speed bowler Haris Rauf took 3 gates for 29 runs from 4 overs after Naseem Shah (4-0-40-1) provided Pakistan a desire beginning by bowling Kusal Mendis for a gold duck in the initial over.

Rewriter Shabad Khan (4-0-28-1) as well as Iftikhar Ahmed (3-0-21-1) likewise handled to maintain a limited chain on the Sri Lankan batsmen.

However Rajapaksa as well as Hasaranga introduced a blistering counterattack to transform the suit on its head.

Rauf did bring Pakistan back right into the competition when he had Hasaranga captured behind in the 15th overs.

However Rajapaksa discovered excellent assistance from Chamika Karunaratne (14 not out) as the left-hander destroyed Naseem’s bowling numbers with innovative stroke-play in the last over as Sri Lanka went from 155 for 6 in the 19 overs to 170 for 6 at the end of their innings.

Quick ratings:

Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 23 runs.

Sri Lanka 170 for 6 in 20 overs (Bhanuka Rajapaksa 71 not out, Wanindu Hasaranga 36, Dhananjaya de Silva 28; Haris Rauf 3/39)

Pakistan 147 full blast in 20 overs (Mohammad Rizwan 55, Iftikhar Ahmed 32; Pramod Madushan Liyanagamage 4/34, Wanindu Hasaranga 3/27)

Back to top button