Bangladesh axe Mahmudullah from T20 World Cup squad

Mahmudullah’s addition was under a cloud after a lacklustre 151 stumbles upon his 8 suit looks in 2022

Bangladesh on Wednesday axed previous cricket captain Mahmudullah Riyad and also remembered batsman Najmul Hossain in a shakeup to their battling Twenty20 team in advance of following month’s Globe Mug in Australia.

This month’s unsatisfactory Asia Mug project highlighted the group’s 20-over troubles, with Bangladesh turfed out in the team phase after shedding to Afghanistan and also ultimate victors Sri Lanka.

Mahmudullah’s addition was under a cloud after a lacklustre 151 stumbles upon his 8 suit looks in 2022.

Indian cricketer Sridharan Sriram, designated last month as the group’s T20 expert, claimed it was time for the group to think about its future past the 36-year-old.

” I assume this was the correct time for everybody to find with each other and also think about … that can complete the large footwear of Mahmudullah,” he claimed.

Principal selector Minhajul Abedin hailed Mahmudullah’s document yet included that the choice to leave out the all-rounder from the team was consentaneous.

” We have regard for Mahmudullah that has actually played well for the nationwide group,” he claimed.

” We have not been succeeding in this layout,” Minhajul included. “Our T20 expert has actually offered us a 1 year strategy, which will certainly take us in a various instructions. We have actually chosen this strategy.”

Najmul returns after he was excluded of opinion throughout the Asia Mug project while Liton Das, Nurul Hasan and also Yasir Ali have actually recuperated from injury.

Bangladesh will certainly additionally lack the knowledgeable Mushfiqur Rahim, that retired previously this month.

The Globe Mug obtains underway in Australia on October 16 and also Bangladesh will certainly show up in Team 2 together with India, Pakistan, South Africa and also 2 qualifiers.

The team called on Wednesday will certainly take a trip to New Zealand in advance to participate in following month’s tri-nation competition together with Pakistan.

Bangladesh team: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Najmul Hossain

Back to top button